Built in 1929, this D25 was one of the last New Standard built. A brief history shows that the airplane was used to ‘smuggle’ Canadian Whiskey during the prohibition and carried passengers from 1934 to 1941, later to be used as a crop duster until 1964. The aircraft was sold to the “Flying Lady Museum” in Morgan Hill and was later acquired by Hugh Bikle.
Since the fall of 2006 “The Flying Lady” has undergone a complete restoration to a ‘Better Than New Condition’ by Vintage Wings & Wheels. She has been returned to service in June of 2014.
Some additional unique features include
FAA field approved Electrical system using a Bendix Eclipse starter and wind generator
FAA field approved Avionics using Becker radio and Sandia transponder
- Wright J-5 “Whirlwind” engine of 220 hp
- Original cowling and spinner
- Original 30″ x 5″ wheels
- 4 Passenger in front fuselage
- Cruise Speed 80 mph
- Landing Speed 40 mph
- Wing span: 45 feet